Jennifer Hsiung (Music Director)

Jennifer Hsiung

Ms. Jennifer Hsiung comes from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, where she was a voice faculty member at Temple University in Philadelphia and a section leader in the chancel choir of First Presbyterian Church in Philadelphia and Reform Congregation Keneseth Israel in Elkins Park. She was also a freelance classical vocalist and pianist in the Philadelphia area. Recently, she was the musical director for the Ramstein High School musical.

Originally from Palo Alto California, Jennifer Hsiung studied piano, voice and conducting at San Jose State University. Graduate studies brought her to The Mannes College of Music. She finished her formal vocal performance training in Philadelphia at The Academy of Vocal Arts.

As a singer, Ms. Hsiung has performed repertoire ranging from Bach to Bright Sheng. Opera role highlights include Prince Orlovsky in Die Fledermaus, La Zelatrice in Suor Angelica, Dorabella in Cosi Fan Tutte, Tigrana in Puccini’s Edgar, Stephano in Gounod’s Romeo et Juliette, Zerlina in Don Giovanni, the title role in La Navarraise, Fricka in Das Rheingold, Sonia in Lehar’s Czarevitch, and Olga in Eugene Onegin. She sang Suzuki in Madama Butterfly at the St. Barth Music Festival. Concert career highlights include Verdi‚Äôs Requiem, Rossini’s Stabat Mater, Handel’s Dixit Dominus, Haydn’s Lord Nelson Mass, Bright Sheng’s Two Poems from the Sung Dynasty with the composer conducting, Handel’s Messiah, Mozart’s Requiem, Honegger’s King David, Mahler’s Das Lied von der Erde, and Pergolesi’s Stabat Mater.

She has the been a recipient of awards from the Henry and Maria Holt Scholarship Foundation, San Jose Opera Guild, Shoshana Foundation (The Richard Gold Career Grant), Mario Lanza Scholarship Foundation, Metropolitan Opera National Council, the Licia Albanese-Puccini Foundation, and the James P. Parkinson Foundation.

Jennifer Hsiung (Musikalische Leitung)

Jennifer Hsiung

Fr. Jennifer Hsiung kommt aus Philadelphia in Pennsylvania, USA, wo sie an der Temple University in Philadelphia als Mitglied der Fakultät für Gesang tätig war. Dort war sie auch Sektionsleiterin im Chancel Choir der First Presbyterian Church in Philadelphia und der Reform Congregation Keneseth Israel in Elkins Park. Sie war außerdem als freiberufliche klassische Sängerin und Pianistin in Philadelphia aktiv. Kürzlich war sie als musikalische Leiterin für das Ramstein High School Musical verantwortlich.

Ursprünglich aus Palo Alto in Kalifornien kommend, studierte Jennifer Hsiung Klavier, Gesang und Dirigieren an der San Jose State University. Ein weiterführendes Studium führte sie an das Mannes College of Music in New York City. Sie schloss ihr Gesangsstudium in Philadelphia an der Academy of Vocal Arts ab.

Als Sängerin reichte Fr. Hsiungs Konzertrepertoire von Bach bis Bright Sheng. Höhepunkte ihrer Opernrollen sind unter anderem Prinz Orlofsky in Die Fledermaus, die Schwester Eiferin in Suor Angelica, Dorabella in Cosi Fan Tutte, Tigrana in Puccinis Edgar, Stephano in Gounods Roméo et Juliette, Zerlina in Don Giovanni, die Titelrolle in La Navarraise, Fricka in Das Rheingold, Sonia in Lehars Der Zarewitsch und Olga in Eugene Onegin. Sie sang Suzuki in Madama Butterfly auf dem St. Barth Music Festival. Zu den Höhepunkten ihrer Konzertkarriere gehören Verdis Requiem, Rossinis Stabat Mater, Händels Dixit Dominus, Haydns Lord Nelson Messe, Bright Shengs Two Poems from the Sung Dynasty unter dem Dirigat des Komponisten, Händels Messias, Mozarts Requiem, Honeggers König David, Mahlers Das Lied von der Erde und Pergolesis Stabat Mater.

Sie ist Preisträgerin der Henry and Maria Holt Scholarship Foundation, der San Jose Opera Guild, der Shoshana Foundation (The Richard Gold Career Grant), der Mario Lanza Scholarship Foundation, des Metropolitan Opera National Council, der Licia Albanese-Puccini Foundation und der James P. Parkinson Foundation.