Rheinland-Pfalz International Choir Chronicles

1985

In December 1985, 50 American singers from the church choirs of the military communities in the U.S. Ramstein Air Base and Vogelweh came together. They were planning to perform Handel’s “Messiah” and were looking for additional singers to join the project.

1986

The performance of the “Messiah” in 1985 had impressed representatives of the parish of St. Martin/Weinstraße. They invited the choir to perform at the dedication ceremony of its renovated church on Easter 1986. It was an evening to be remembered. The citizens of St. Martin were so impressed that they invited the choir to their next international music festival. In order to perform, however, the choir needed a more diverse repertoire which included international medleys of songs from Broadway, pop, country and western. This was the birth of the “Ramstein Community Choir”. Due to the presence of NATO troops in the area, not only Americans but also Canadians, English, French, Dutch and Germans joined as members. The choir performed at the German-American Friendship Week in Queidersbach and participated in the annual singing of the choirs at Christmas in Trippstadt. Other appearances were at the German-American Ball of Ramstein Air Force and the ball of the Bundeswehr in Trier. One of the most beautiful evenings was the musical salute on the occasion of the retirement of General Charles Donnelly, commander of U.S. Air Forces in Europe (USAFE). The choir sang with the U.S. Air Force Band in front of more than 1,250 invited guests from all over Europe at Ramstein Air Base.

1987

In June 1987, Lt.Col. Herbert Meyer, who had led the choir until then, returned back to America. His successor, Maj. Craig Jessop, was the principal conductor of the U.S. Air Force in Europe. In the autumn of 1987 the choir performed the “Messiah” in Trippstadt. On Dec. 20th, the Ramstein Community Choir gave a Christmas concert with the USAFE Band in the St. Nicholas Church in Ramstein, which included a performance of the oratorio “Messiah” by Handel.

1988

In the meantime, the choir had grown to 100 members from 6 nations. In January, the choir decided to change its name. “Rheinland-Pfalz International Choir” was intended by the members to express that the chorus feels at home in Rhineland-Palatinate and maintains international music, uniting members of all nationalities. The choir year is divided into two halves: a spring and a winter season. The winter season begins in early September and goes until mid-December. The spring season begins in mid-January to late June. The rehearsals are conducted on Tuesdays from 19:00 bis 21:30 hours in the rooms of the Faith Baptist Church in Kaiserslautern-Einsiedlerhof. The program for early 1988 includes performances on various occasions, such as Martin Luther King Day, the National Prayer Breakfast and the 17th Festival Air Force music festival in Sembach. In March, a performance was given to celebrate the 100th Birthday of American composer Irving Berlin with the USAFE band in Kaiserslautern. In May the choir performed at the opening of the German-American Friendship Week in the Fruchthalle in Kaiserslautern. In June, recordings of the “Requiem” by Andrew Lloyd Webber for radio and television were made, together with the Radio Orchestra of the SWR. Together with that orchestra, the Rheinland-Pfalz International Choir also performed during the Rhineland-Palatinate Music Festival in the Betzdorf City Hall. The concert included A.L. Webber’s “Requiem” and medleys of his musicals, as well as songs from “Hair”. A soloist of the concerts was the soprano Deborah Sesson, a member of the RPIC. The choir was led and directed by Craig D. Jessop at this concert.

1989

In April, the U.S. Air Force Europe Band organized two shows at the Fruchthalle Kaiserslautern, “A Country Salute to America’s Heritage” and “Salute to German-American Friendship”, where the Rheinland-Pfalz International Choir participated with their own contributions. The highlight of the year was the participation of the choir in the celebrations of the 40th Anniversary of the Berlin Airlift on 13th and 14th of May in Berlin Tempelhof. Another highlight was U.S. President George Bush’s visit to Germany on 30th and 31th of May, during which he gave a speech in the Rheingoldhalle in Mainz. RPIC performed in the accompanying program and was explicitly mentioned in the presidential address. A performance entitled “Sing We Now of Christmas” took place in the period of Dec. 1st to 19th at the Ramstein community center, in Weilerbach at the Protestant Church and in the Fruchthalle Christmas concerts with the USAFE Band. All concerts were under the direction of Mr. Gregory Prudom, who was also the Commander of 76th Army Band in Kaiserslautern.

1990

The choir year was marked by the usual “Messiah” concerts, as well as the start of a cooperation with the men’s choir of Weilerbach, which kindly offered its choir community building, Hüttengärten 6 in Weilerbach as a future rehearsal location for the RPIC. Together with the men’s choir Weilerbach a charity concert was held. The success was immense, and so we decided to repeat this every year.

1991

For spring, we had planned a concert tour to Brandenburg, the twin city of Kaiserslautern and to Potsdam, with participation of the mens choir of Weilerbach. Musical accompaniment was to be provided by the 76th Army Band. Because of the Gulf War, this trip had to be canceled on short notice. Since most choir members were Americans and were partially reassigned, the choir was decimated. For security reasons, no rehearsals could take place at this time. The rehearsals were taken up again in September. Still, there were some highlights of the year, especially the Rhineland-Palatinate premiere of John Rutter’s “Requiem”. This was followed by concerts in Zweibrücken and the charity concert with the Weilerbach mens choir in the St. Nicholas Church in Ramstein.

1992

promises to be a special year. For 2nd to 5th of April, we were able to reschedule the concert tour to Brandenburg that was canceled in 1991. A charity concert was held in the Trinity Church, in which the “Requiem” by John Rutter was performed. There was another concert the next day in the clubhouse of the railwaymen in Kirchmöser. On April 24th, the choir gave a church concert of modern sacred music in the Klosterkirche in Enkenbach. On December 18th, the choir performed international Christmas chorals in Ludwigshafen-Oggersheim in the Wallfahrtskirche „Maria Himmelfahrt“. Already in the middle of the year, there had been a change in the direction of the choir. Richard Myers took over from conductor Gregory Prudom, who was returning to America. Myers had previously accompanied the choir musically.

1993

On February 5-6, RPIC hosted the Albertson College of Idaho Choir in Kaiserslautern and also sponsored this trip on their European tour. The choir performed on Febr. 5th in the Protestant Church of Weilerbach, presenting sacred music by Mendelssohn-Bartholdy, as well as medleys of Stephen Forster and spirituals. The round of RPC Christmas performances began on Dec. 1st at the German-American Press Club in the Casimirsaal in Kaiserslautern with a Christmas journey through the world. At Dec. 4th, we presented Christmas carols at the Christmas market in Schwedelbach. On December 5th, the annual Christmas concert took place in the Protestant Church in Weilerbach, where the choir performed jointly with the Weilerbach Choral Society under the direction of E. Clement, accompanied by the 76th U.S. Army Band, led by K. Allen. On December 7th, the choir participated in the Christmas Tree Lighting ceremony at the main entrance of the U.S. military hospital in Landstuhl with festive carols. On December 12th, the choir performed its Christmas program at the Chapel 3 in Kaiserslautern-Vogelweh. Furthermore, the choir performed on December 18th once again with the same program as in 1992 in Ludwigshafen-Oggersheim in the Wallfahrtskirche „Maria Himmelfahrt“.

1994

Under the new leadership of Vicky Jardin Tobin, a challenging music program was developed. A concert tour to Prague in the Czech Republic was planned for late April, and a guest appearance at the end of May at the Rhineland-Palatinate Day in Frankenthal was scheduled. Due to the troup reductions of U.S. forces in Germany and the resulting decline of membership of the American singers, the choir was depleted. The planned concert tours had to be cancelled. With 24 singers the choir started into the autumn season and rehearsed Christmas carols for the charity concert with the Weilerbach Choral Society on Dec. 4 in the Protestant Church in Weilerbach and for the concert on December 16th in the Chapel 1 on Ramstein Air Base. The choir is now under the direction of Carla Thomson-Jones, a trained music teacher.

1995

The promising new beginning under the direction of Carla Thomson-Jones was thwarted by the fact that the choir was decimated by the continued departure of many Americans. This particularly affected the male tenor and bass sections, but also the soprano voices. In the autumn season, it was nevertheless possible to rehearse Christmas tunes with a small ensemble. The choir was directed by Jaemi Sitzmann. With the children’s choir of the elementary school at Fischerrück in Kaiserslautern, the choir gave a Christmas concert on Dec. 17th in the Lutherkirche in Kaiserslautern.

1996

The choir rehearsed regularly in spring under the direction of Jaemi Sitzmann. However, due to the small membership, there were no public appearances. After the summer break, Lt.Col. Dr. Dennis Leyendecker, who was also head of the U.S. Air Force Europe Band, took over as the musical director of the choir. The choir was still looking for new singers.

1997

With the start of the new year, the choir RPIC moved its rehearsals to the community center in Rodenbach and then in the fall to the Cath. Parish Hall of St. Raphael in Kaiserslautern-Einsiedlerhof. A medley of Christmas carols was performed during the Christmas concert with the USAFE Band in the Fruchthalle Kaiserslautern on Dec. 6th, led by Dennis Leyendecker. According to “Rheinpfalz” newspaper, there were brilliant voices in all sections, excellent overall sound of the choir and flawless interpretation. The choir is on its way back to its former glory.

1998

Under the direction of Lt.Col. Leyendecker, the choir presented a spring concert on April 26th at the abbey church in Ottersberg, which was reviewed very favorably in the press (“Emphatic and pure choral jubilation”). The highlight of the year was the participation of the choir in the celebrations for the 50th Anniversary of the end of the blockade of Berlin on October 16/17th, which took place in Berlin-Tempelhof.

1999

In September, Karalee Romaneski took over as RPIC director. On December 17th, the choir participated in the Christmas concert of the USAFE Band. German and American Christmas carols were presented.

2000

In May, the RPIC was invited to a spring festival by German-American Women’s Club, during which the choir sang German and American folk songs. On June 4th, the choir performed in the abbey church in Ottersberg at a spiritual concert with readings. Dec. 2nd - participation in a pre-Christmas concert in Schloßkirche in Neuhemsbach. Karalee Romaneski directed the RPIC at her farewell concert.

2001

Until September, the choir was without a music director. The rehearsals were held by senior members of the choir. In September, Keelan McCamey started directing the RPIC, and led the choir at the opening of the cultural market on December 1st in the Fruchthalle Kaiserslautern. On December 7th, the choir sang Christmas hymns at the Christmas concert of the USAFE band in the Fruchthalle Kaiserslautern.

2002

In February, Kimberly Graff took over the leadership of RPIC. Under her direction, the choir performed at the Gartenschau Kaiserslautern on June 8 in a concert titled “Sing in a choir!” with German and American folk songs. Further appearances followed on November 30th for the opening of the cultural market in the Fruchthalle, on December 5th at the German-American Women’s Club in the “Casimir” at the Gartenschau Kaiserslautern, on December 10th at the Christmas concert of the USAFE band in the Fruchthalle, on December 14th at a Christmas concert at the Gustav-Adolf-Kirche in KL-Erzhütten, and on December 20th with the Christmas concert at the multipurpose hall in Kindsbach.

2003

Sept. 21st - Concert at the Gartenschau Kaiserslautern (directed by Kimberly Graff).

2004

After the departure of Kimberly Graff, the choir was without musical direction. Choir member Carolyn Connor acted as temporary director until Sept. 2005.

2005

4th of June - Concert of RPIC and members of the Men’s Choral Society 1911 Hochspeyer with the American Horn Quartet in the abbey church Ottersberg under the direction of Carolyn Connor. Starting in September, Irmela Knoll Kliewer takes over as the director of RPIC. December 7/8th - Christmas concert with the USAFE Band in the Stiftskirche Kaiserslautern, directed by Irmela Knoll Kliewer (the “Rheinpfalz” comments: “… the Choir has blossomed under its new conductor, much to its advantage”).

2006

The choir now rehearses in the parish hall of the Protestant Gustav Adolf Church in KL-Erhütten. June 17th - “Kleine Marktmusik” of the RPIC at St. Martin Church with choral music from five continents. In the afternoon, the choir gave a concert at the Gartenschau entitled “Once around the globe.” July 15th - on the occasion of the 100th Anniversary of the Natursteinwerk Picard, RPIC gave a late-night performance in the quarry with international songs. December 8th - Christmas concert of the USAFE band in the Fruchthalle with RPIC participation. Dec. 15th - “Christmas Carols” with the RPIC in the “church night” of the Stiftskirche with works by J.S. Bach, G.F. Handel and Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy. According to “Rheinpfalz”, the soprano Linda Gross managed to create special musical moments of fascination and interpretation. The two also very appealing altos Kornelia Dessloch and Sharon Moss formed a special kind of singing duet.

2007

Since January, the RPIC is under the direction of Sam Alexander. May 11th - “Little Night Music” in the Stiftskirche with the RPIC (“Choral music from the Renaissance to the Present”). Dec. 7th - Christmas Concert of the USAF Band with participation of the RPIC.

2008

Sept. 13th - Performance at the recital of the MGV “Liederkranz” Otterberg.

Dec. 2008 - June 2013

Starting December 2008, Dr. Patrick Casey took over as our musical director. Information about the concerts from this time on can be found in the “Music and Concerts” section.

Under Dr. Casey’s leadership, the choir doubled in membership to approx. 45 singers in 2013 and grew in musical substance, broadening its repertoire to include choral-orchestral projects. The most notables were W.A. Mozart’s “Missa Brevis in C-Major KV258” and Antonio Vivaldis “Gloria, RV589”, both performed with chamber orchestra and professional soloists. Between December 2008 and June 2013, the choir had a total of 43 concerts and performances. Among those were the popular yearly Chirstmas concerts with the USAFE concert band, a first prize choir competition performance in the category “folk & world music” at the state-wide choir festival in Kaiserslautern and performances at the German Choir Festival 2012 in Frankfurt.

This positive development hasn’t gone unnoticed in the local musical community and the press. The “Rheinpfalz” newspaper wrote in December 2012: “If you experienced the Rheinland-Pfalz International Choir a few years ago, you were in for a big surprise. Patrick Casey has formed the choir into a sounding ensemble of surprising quality. Especially convincing is the rich euphony; […] the singing is precise and clean, the phrasing is excellent, and the director cares about dynamics and a nice final ritardando.”

Aug. 2013

In August 2013, Patrick started to take a leave of absence to pursue activities in the USA. During that time, Stephanie Benton led the choir as our Visiting Music Director.

Jan. 2014 - Apr. 2016

Stephanie Benton became our official Music Director, now that Dr. Casey decided to extend his leave of absence further. Mrs. Benton continued to broaden the scope of the choir by selecting larger choral-orchestral works, such as Benjamin Britten’s “A Ceremony of Carols” or Joseph Haydn’s “Missa in angustiis (Nelson Mass)”. Under her direction, the choir grew both in terms of membership, as well as musically and in terms of performance quality. The strong performance and development of our choir was constantly and repeatedly emphasized in the local press and culminated with an invitation to join other choirs from multiple countries for a performance at Carnegie Hall, New York in January 2017. In April 2016, Stephanie Benton and her husband returned to the US.

May 2016

Dr. Justin W. Lewis is taking the position of the choir’s musical director.

Chronik des Rheinland-Pfalz International Choir

1985

Im Dezember 1985 trafen sich 50 Sänger/innen, ausschließlich Amerikaner, die zu den Kirchenchören der Militärgemeinden auf dem US-Flugplatz Ramstein und der Vogelweh gehörten. Sie studierten Händels „Messias“ ein und suchten dazu noch weitere Sänger/innen.

1986

Die Aufführung des „Messias“ im Jahr 1985 hatte Vertreter der Gemeinde St. Martin an der Weinstraße so beeindruckt, daß sie den Chor zur Einweihung ihrer renovierten Kirche Ostern 1986 einluden. Es war ein Abend, der nicht so schnell in Vergessenheit geriet. Die Bürger von St. Martin waren so begeistert, daß sie den Chor zum nächsten internationalen Musikfest einluden. Um dort jedoch auftreten zu können brauchte der Chor ein Repertoire, das auch leichte Musik enthielt, wie z.B. internationale Medleys, Lieder vom Broadway, Pop, Country und Western. Dies war die Geburtsstunde des „Ramstein Community Choir“ Durch die Anwesenheit von NATO-Truppen konnten nicht nur Amerikaner, sondern auch Kanadier, Engländer, Franzosen, Niederländer und Deutsche als Mitglieder gewonnen werden. Der Chor trat bei der deutsch-amerikanischen Freundschaftswoche in Queidersbach auf und beteiligte sich am alljährlichen Singen der Chöre zu Weihnachten in Trippstadt. Weitere Auftritte folgten zum Deutsch-Amerikanischen Ball der Luftwaffe in Ramstein und zum Ball der Bundeswehr in Trier. Einer der schönsten Abende war der musikalische Salut anlässlich der Pensionierung von General Charles Donelly , Oberbefehlshaber der US-Luftwaffe in Europa (USAFE). Der Chor sang mit der US Air Force Band vor mehr als 1250 geladenen Gästen aus ganz Europa in Ramstein Air Base.

1987

Im Juni 1987 kehrte Lt.Col. Herbert Meyer, der den Chor bis dahin geführt hatte, nach Amerika zurück. Sein Nachfolger war Maj. Craig Jessop, erster Dirigent der US Air Force in Europa. Im Herbst 1987 folgten Aufführungen des Chores in Trippstadt mit dem „Messias“. Am 20.12. führte der Ramstein Community Choir mit der USAFE-Band in der St. Nikolaus-Kirche Ramstein ein Weihnachtskonzert auf, in dessen Mittelpunkt die Aufführung des Oratoriums „Messias“ von Händel stand.

1988

Der Chor hatte zwischenzeitlich 100 Mitglieder aus 6 Nationen. Im Januar beschloss der Chor, seinen Namen zu ändern. „Rheinland-Pfalz International Choir“ sollte nach dem Willen der Mitglieder zum Ausdruck bringen, daß der Chor sich in Rheinland-Pfalz beheimatet fühlt, internationale Musik pflegt und Mitglieder aller Nationalitäten vereinigt. Das Chorjahr wurde in zwei Hälften unterteilt, in eine Frühjahr- und Wintersaison. Die Wintersaison beginnt Anfang September und geht bis Mitte Dezember. Die Frühjahrssaison beginnt Mitte Januar bis Ende Juni. Die Chorproben wurden Dienstags von 19:00 Uhr bis 21:30 Uhr in den Räumen der Faith Baptist Church in Kaiserslautern-Einsiedlerhof abgehalten. Das Programm für Anfang 1988 beinhaltete verschiedene Auftritte wie z.B. zum Martin-Luther-Gedächtnistag, dem National Prayer Breakfest und dem 17. Air Force Musikfest in Sembach. Im März fand eine Aufführung zum 100. Geburtstag des amerikanischen Komponisten Irving Berlin mit der USAFE Band in Kaiserslautern statt. Im Mai sang der Chor zur Eröffnung der Deutsch-Amerikanischen Freundschaftswoche in der Fruchthalle in Kaiserslautern. Im Juni folgten Aufnahmen des „Requiem“ von Andrew Lloyd Webber für Rundfunk und Fernsehen, zusammen mit dem Orchester des Südwestrundfunks. Im Rahmen der Rheinland-Pfälzischen Musiktage gastierte der Rheinland-Pfalz- International Choir mit dem Rundfunkorchester des Südwestfunks in Betzdorf in der Stadthalle mit A.L.Webbers „Requiem“ sowie Medleys aus seinen Musicals und aus „Hair“. Solistin war die Sopranistin Deborah Sesson, die dem RPIC angehörte. Der Chor wurde von Craig D. Jessop einstudiert und bei diesem Konzert dirigiert.

1989

Im April veranstaltete die US Air Force Band Europe zwei Konzerte in der Fruchthalle Kaiserslautern, „ A Salute to America’s Country Heritage“ und „Salute to German-American Friendship”, an denen der Rheinland-Pfalz International Choir mit eigenen Beiträgen mitwirkte. Höhepunkt des Jahres war die Teilnahme des Chores an den Feierlichkeiten des 40. Jahrestages der Berliner Luftbrücke, die am 13. Und 14. Mai in Berlin Tempelhof stattfanden. Ein weiterer Höhepunkt war der Deutschlandbesuch des US-Präsidenten Georg Bush am 30. u. 31. Mai, bei dem er in der Rheingoldhalle in Mainz eine Rede hielt. Im Begleitprogramm wirkte der RPIC mit und wurde in der Präsidentenrede ausdrücklich benannt. Unter dem Titel „Sing we now of Christmas“ fanden in der Zeit vom 1.12. – 19.12. in Ramstein im Haus des Bürgers, in Weilerbach in der Evang. Kirche und in der Fruchthalle Kaiserslautern Weihnachtskonzerte mit der USAFE Band und dem RPIC statt. Alle Konzerte standen unter dem Dirigat von Mr. Gregory Prudom, der gleichzeitig auch Commander der 76th Army Band in Kaiserslautern war.

1990

Das Chorjahr wurde geprägt durch die üblichen „Messias“-Konzerte sowie den Beginn der Zusammenarbeit mit dem Männerchor Weilerbach, der freundlicherweise sein Sängerheim, Hüttengärten 6 in Weilerbach als künftigen Probeort zur Verfügung stellte. Zusammen mit dem Männerchor Weilerbach wurde ein Wohltätigkeitskonzert gegeben, dessen Erlös guten Zwecken zugeführt wurde. Der Erfolg war immens und so beschloss man, dieses jährlich zu wiederholen.

1991

Im Frühjahr war eine Konzertreise nach Brandenburg, der Partnerstadt Kaiserslauterns und nach Potsdam geplant, bei der auch der Männerchor Weilerbach teilnehmen sollte. Musikalische Begleitung sollte durch die 76. Army Band erfolgen. Wegen der Golfkrise mußte diese Reise kurzfristig abgesagt werden. Da die meisten Chormitglieder Amerikaner waren und teilweise abkommandiert wurden, war der Chor stark dezimiert. Aus Sicherheitsgründen konnten in dieser Zeit keine Chorproben stattfinden. Die Chorproben konnten erst wieder ab September aufgenommen werden. Trotz allem gab es noch einige Höhepunkte zum Jahresende, insbesondere die Erstaufführung von John Rutters „Requiem“ in Rheinland-Pfalz. Es folgten Konzerte in Zweibrücken und das Wohltätigkeitskonzert mit dem Weilerbacher Männerchor in der St. Nikolaus-Kirche in Ramstein.

1992

Vom 2. bis 5. April konnte die 1991 abgesagte Konzertreise nach Brandenburg nachgeholt werden. Das Benefizkonzert fand in der Dreifaltigkeitskirche statt, in der das „Requiem“ von John Rutter zur Aufführung kam. Ein weiteres Konzert gab es am nächsten Tag im Clubheim der Eisenbahner in Kirchmöser. Am 24. April fand dann ein Kirchenkonzert mit moderner geistlicher Musik in der Klosterkirche in Enkenbach statt. Am 18. Dezember gastierte der Chor in Ludwigshafen-Oggersheim in der Wallfahrtskirche „Maria Himmelfahrt“ mit internationalen Weihnachtschorälen. Bereits Mitte des Jahres fand ein Wechsel in der Leitung des Chores statt. Richard Myers löste den nach Amerika zurückkehrenden Dirigenten Gregory Prudom ab. Myers hatte den Chor bisher musikalisch begleitet.

1993

In der Zeit vom 5. – 6. Februar hielt sich der Albertson College of Idaho Chorale in Kaiserslautern auf und war Gast beim RPIC, der diesen Abstecher auf seiner Europa-Tour sponsorte. Der Chor gab am 5. Februar in der Evang. Kirche in Weilerbach ein Konzert mit geistlicher Musik von Mendelsohn-Bartholdy sowie Medleys von Stephan Forster und Spirituals. Der Reigen der RPC-Auftritte in der Weihnachtszeit begann am 1.12. beim Deutsch- Amerkanischen Presseclub im Casimirsaal in Kaiserslautern mit einer weihnachtlichen Reise durch die Welt. Am 4.12. trat der Chor mit Weihnachtsliedern auf dem Weihnachtsmarkt in Schwedelbach auf. Am 5. Dezember fand das alljährliche Weihnachtskonzert, gemeinsam mit dem Weilerbacher Sängerbund in der Evang. Kirche Weilerbach statt, das unter der Leitung von E. Clemens stand und von der 76. US Army Band unter Leitung von K. Allen musikalisch begleitet wurde. Am 7. Dezember beteiligte sich der RPIC an der Weihnachtsbaumlichterzermonie am Haupteingang des US Militärhospitals Landstuhl mit weihnachtlichen Weisen. Am 12. Dezember trat der Chor in der Chapel 3 in Kaiserslautern-Vogelweh mit seinem Weihnachtsprogramm auf. Desweiteren gastierte der Chor am 18. Dezember noch einmal mit dem gleichen Programm wie 1992 in der Wallfahrtskirche „Maria Himmelfahrt“ in Ludwigshafen-Oggersheim.

1994

Unter der neuen Leitung von Vicky Jardin-Tobin wurde wieder ein anspruchsvolles Musikprogramm erarbeitet. So war für Ende April eine Konzertreise nach Prag in der Tschechischen Republik sowie Ende Mai ein Gastauftritt beim Rheinland-Pfalz Tag in Frankenthal geplant. Durch die Truppenreduzierung der US-Streitkräfte in Deutschland und das Wegbleiben der amerikanischen Sänger/innen war der Chor aber stark dezimiert. Die vorgesehenen Konzertreisen konnten daher nicht durchgeführt werden. Mit 24 Sänger/innen startete der Chor in die Herbstsaison und studierte weihnachtliche Klänge für das Wohltätigkeitskonzert mit dem Weilerbacher Sängerbund am 4. Dezember in der Evang. Kirche in Weilerbach sowie für den Auftritt am 16. Dezember in der Chapel 1 auf der US Air Base Ramstein ein. Der Chor stand nun unter dem Dirigat von Carla Thomson-Jones, einer ausgebildeten Musiklehrerin.

1995

Der vielversprechende Neubeginn unter der Leitung von Carla Thomson-Jones scheiterte an der Tatsache, daß der Chor durch den Weggang vieler Amerikaner weiter dezimiert wurde. Es fehlten vor allem männliche Tenor- und Bassstimmen, aber auch Sopranstimmen. In der Herbstsaison war es dann doch möglich, mit kleiner Besetzung weihnachtliche Melodien einzustudieren. Die Chorleitung übernahm Jaemie Sitzmann. Mit dem Kinderchor der Grundschule am Fischerrück in Kaiserslautern gab der Chor am 17. Dezember in der Lutherkirche in Kaiserslautern sein Weihnachtskonzert. Weitere Aktivitäten gab es nicht.

1996

Die Chorproben im Frühjahr unter der Leitung von Jaemie Sitzmann fanden zwar regelmäßig dienstagsabends statt. Aufgrund der Tatsache, daß zu wenig Sänger/innen vorhanden waren, konnten öffentliche Auftritte nicht gegeben werden. Nach der Sommerpause übernahm Lt.Col. Dr. Dennis Leyendecker, der gleichzeitig Leiter der US Airforce Band Europe war, die musikalische Leitung des Chores. Der Chor war weiterhin auf der Suche nach neuen Sänger/innen.

1997

Mit Beginn des neuen Jahres hatte der RPIC seine Chorstunden vom Sängerheim Weilerbach zunächst ins Bürgerhaus in Rodenbach und dann im Herbst ‘97 ins kath. Pfarrheim St. Raphael in Kaiserslautern-Einsiedlerhof verlegt. Als Übungsprogramm wurde ein Potpourri von Weihnachtsliedern aufgenommen, das beim Weihnachtskonzert der USAFE-Band unter der Leitung von Dennis Leyendecker am 6.12. in der Fruchthalle in Kaiserslautern der Öffentlichkeit präsentiert wurde. Laut „Rheinpfalz“ gab es glänzende Stimmen in allen Lagen, Wohlklang des Gesamtchores und lupenreine Interpretation. Der Chor sei auf dem besten Weg, wieder zu altem Glanz zurückzufinden.

1998

Unter der Leitung von Lt.Col. Leyendecker präsentierte der Chor am 26.4. in der Abteikirche in Otterberg ein Frühlingskonzert, das bei der Presse eine positive Beurteilung fand („Emphatischer und glockenreiner Chorjubel“). Höhepunkt des Jahres war die Teilnahme des Chores an den Feierlichkeiten zum 50. Jahrestag der Beendigung der Berlin-Blockade, die am 16. und 17.10. in Berlin-Tempelhof stattfanden.

1999

Im September übernahm Karalee Romaneski die Leitung des RPIC. Am 17. Dezember nahm der Chor am Weihnachtskonzert der USAFE-Band teil. Deutsche und amerikanische Weihnachtslieder kamen zu Gehör.

2000

Im Mai wurde der RPIC vom Deutsch-Amerikanischen Frauenclub zu einem Frühlingsfest eingeladen, bei dem der Chor deutsche und amerikanische Volkslieder sang. Am 4. Juni gab der Chor in der Abteikirche in Otterberg ein geistliches Konzert mit Lesungen. Am 2.12. Teilnahme am vorweihnachtlichen Konzert in der Schloßkirche in Neuhemsbach mit dem Gesangverein Neuhemsbach. Karalee Romaneski diregirte den RPIC und gab zugleich ihren Abschied.

2001

Bis September war der Chor ohne musikalische Leitung. Die Chorstunden wurden von geeigneten Chormitgliedern gehalten. Im September übernahm dann Keelan McCamey den RPIC, der zur Eröffnung des Kulturmarktes am 1. Dezember in der Fruchthalle sang. Am 7. Dezember sang der Chor beim Weihnachtskonzert der USAFE-Band in der Fruchthalle in Kaiserslautern weihnachtliche Choräle.

2002

Im Februar übernahm Kimberly Graff die Leitung des RPIC. Unter ihrem Dirigat gab der Chor am 8.Juni auf der Gartenschau in Kaiserslautern ein Konzert unter dem Titel „Sing im Chor“ mit deutschen und amerikanischen Volksliedern. Weitere Auftritte folgten am 30. November zur Eröffnung des Kulturmarktes in der Fruchthalle Kaiserslautern, am 5. Dezember beim Deutsch-Amerik. Frauenclub im „Casimir“ auf der Gartenschau Kaiserslautern, am 10. Dezember beim Weihnachtskonzert der USAFE-Band in der Fruchthalle, am 14. Dezember beim Weihnachtskonzert in der Gustav-Adolf-Kirche in KL-Erzhütten und am 20. Dezember mit dem Weihnachtskonzert in der Mehrzweckhalle in Kindsbach.

2003

Am 21. Sept. - Konzert in der Gartenschau Kaiserslautern (Ltg. Kimberly Graff)

2004

Der Chor war nach dem Weggang von Kimberly Graff ohne musikalische Leitung. Das Chormitglied Carolyn Connor hatte bis Sept. 2005 kommissarisch die Führung übernommen

2005

Am 4. Juni - Konzert des RPIC und Mitgliedern des Männergesangvereins 1911 Hochspeyer mit dem American Horn Quartett in der Abteikirche Otterberg unter der Leitung von Carolyn Connor. Ab September übernahm Irmela Knoll-Kliewer als Dirigentin den RPIC. 7. + 8. - Dezember Weihnachtskonzert der USAFE-Band in der Stiftskirche Kaiserslautern unter Mitwirkung des RPIC, Dirigat: Irmela Knoll-Kliewer (Lt. „Rheinpfalz“ …… der Chor hat sich unter seiner neuen Dirigentin sehr zum Vorteil gemausert).

2006

Der Chor probt ab sofort im Prot. Gemeindehaus der Gustav-Adolf-Kirche in KL-Erzhütten. 17. Juni - Kleine Marktmusik des RPIC in der St. Martinskirche unter Leitung von Irmela Knoll-Kliewer mit Chormusik aus fünf Kontinenten. Am Nachmittag gab der Chor ein Konzert auf der Gartenschau unter dem Titel „Einmal rund um den Erdball“. 15. Juli - aus Anlaß des 100. Firmenjubiläums Natursteinwerk Picard trat der RPIC zu einer Nachtperfomance mit internationalen Liedern im Steinbruch auf. 8. Dez. - Weihnachtskonzert der USAFE-Band in der Fruchthalle unter Mitwirkung des RPIC. 15.Dez. - „Christmas Carols“ Weihnachtslieder mit dem RPIC in der „Abendkirche“ der Stiftskirche aus Werken von J.S. Bach, G.F. Händel und Felix Mendelsohn- Bartholdy. Lt. “Rheinpfalz” gelang der Sopranistin Linda Gross besondere Momente musikalischer Faszination und Interpretation. Die beiden ebenfalls sehr ansprechenden Altistinnen Kornelia Dessloch und Sharon Moss bildeten ein Gesangsduett besonderer Art.

2007

Seit Januar steht der RPIC unter dem Dirigat von Sam Alexander. 11. Mai - „Kleine Nachtmusik“ in der Stiftskirche mit dem RPIC („Chormusik von der Renaissance bis zur Gegenwart“). 7. Dez. - Weihnachtskonzert der USAF-Band unter Beteiligung des RPIC.

2008

Am 13. Sept. - Auftritt beim Liederabend des MGV „Liederkranz“ Otterberg unter Beteiligung des RPIC.

Dez. 2008 - Juni 2013

Im Dezember 2008 übernahm Dr. Patrick Casey den RPIC als Chorleiter. Informationen zu den Konzerten ab diesem Zeitpunkt sind in der Rubrik “Auftritte” zu finden.

Unter Dr. Caseys Dirigat wuchs der Chor bis 2013 von ca. 22 auf ca. 45 aktive Mitglieder und erfuhr u.a. durch die Darbietung größerer konzertaner Chorwerke wie W.A. Mozarts “Missa Brevis in C-Dur (Spaur-Messe)” oder Antonio Vivaldis “Gloria”, die gemeinsam mit Kammerorchester und professionellen Solisten aufgeführt wurden, musikalisch eine spürbare Wiederbelebung. Zwischen Dezember 2008 und Juni 2013 fanden insgesamt 43 Auftritte und Konzerte des Chors statt. Erwähnt werden sollen hier insbesondere auch die sehr beliebten jährlichen Weihnachtskonzerte mit der USAFE-Band, die Teilnahme am Chorwettbewerb und Ehrung als bester Chor der Kategorie “Folklore/Weltmusik” im Rahmen der Veranstaltung “150 Jahre Chorverband der Pfalz” in Kaiserslautern, sowie Auftritte beim Deutschen Chorfest 2012 in Frankfurt.

Die positive Entwicklung des Chors unter Dr. Casey wurde auch in der lokalen Presse gewürdigt. So schrieb die Rheinpfalz im Dezember 2012: “Wer den Rheinland-Pfalz International Choir vor Jahren erlebt hat, kommt aus dem Staunen nicht mehr heraus. Patrick Casey hat aus dem Chor ein klingendes Ensemble mit erfreulichem Niveau geformt. Bestechend ist vor allem der satte Wohlklang; […] Man singt absolut präzise und sauber, die Phrasierung ist bestens, und der Dirigent legt Wert auf Dynamik und ein schönes Schluß-Ritardando.”

Aug. 2013

Beginnend im August 2013 nahm Patrick Casey aufgrund eines USA-Aufenthalts eine Auszeit als Chorleiter. In dieser Zeit leitete Stephanie Benton als Gastdirigentin den Chor.

Jan. 2014 - Apr. 2016

Stephanie Benton wurde nun offiziell Dirigentin des Chors, da Dr. Casey seinen Aufenthalt in den USA auf unbestimmte Zeit verlängerte. Fr. Benton erweiterte die musikalische Bandbreite des Chors durch die Auswahl größerer Chor-Orchesterwerke, wie beispielsweise Benjamin Brittens “A Ceremony of Carols” oder Joseph Haydns “Missa in angustiis (Nelson-Messe)”. Unter ihrem Dirigat wuchs der Chor weiter, sowohl bzgl. der Zahl der aktiven SängerInnen, als auch musikalisch und bzgl. der Darbietungsqualität. Die Leistungen und die Entwicklung des Chors wurden wiederholt in der Lokalpresse betont und gipfelten in einer Einladung zur Mitwirkung bei einem Konzert in der Carnegie Hall, New York im Januar 2017, gemeinsam mit anderen internationalen Chören. Im April 2016 kehrt Stephanie Benton mit Ihrem Mann nach Amerika zurück.

Mai 2016

Dr. Justin W. Lewis übernimmt die musikalische Leitung des Chors.